peace + love + photography

A day without a cell phone

I often treat my cell phone like an accessory not a necessity. I will turn it off at night (nothing is more irritating than a phone call interrupting your sleep) and sometimes during the day. For some reason my cell phone only rings when I am in class {why is that?} So I’ve taken to just turning it off for a few hours. I’m pretty good at getting back to people. Since I’ve downgraded from a smartphone to a regular phone I find I don’t miss it at all. Sure, the features were cool, but it was actually kind of stressful getting a notification every time I get an email or txt. It was information overload.

Remember pagers? People didn’t freak out if they didn’t have their pager. Are cell phones that serious? In emergencies and if you have children, sure. If you’re an ER doctor or nurse, you might need a cell phone AND a pager. But for regular people, I think technology can be a burden. It can hinder one from connecting with people in a meaningful way.

Powered by Plinky

8 responses

  1. jejune

    I`ll agree with you…
    Sometimes I don`t even answer just because I don`t want to talk…Hmmm I usually use it like a mp4/mp3…when I have to go out.It`s good if you don`t have with who to talk..radio can be a good partner.

    Silent mode rulz.

    July 27, 2010 at 11:29 am

    • @ jejune: that’s interesting you use it as an mp3. I use mine as a clock/alarm too, will have to try the music thing

      July 27, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      • jejune

        I use it like a clock/alarm too sometimes,without that I have a clock which has an alarm -__-“.

        July 28, 2010 at 12:37 am

  2. Lindsay

    Maybe I should try this…I’m a self-proclaimed iPhone addict. A cell-phone fast wouldn’t necessarily be a bad thing for me.

    http://www.thedailyawe.com

    July 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    • Lindsay: a cell phone fast is a great idea! share your experience…

      July 27, 2010 at 3:44 pm

  3. awesome! my phone is ALWAYS on silent unless my mom has been texting me that day then it stays on because i know she will eventually be calling me. most people will text and if they really need to reach me they will email and say they are calling at a specific time. i have also been purposely leaving my phone at home, just because šŸ™‚

    July 30, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • leaving your phone at home…that’s risky {for some} but I definitely understand. I like txting because its very expedient, sometimes though a conversation really makes a difference. And there are times when you just need to see someone face-to-face, to really connect and have a meaningful conversation.

      July 31, 2010 at 8:46 pm

  4. @ Jejune: I don’t have an alarm clock, I use my cell phone for that. If I could get away with no alarm clock ever and wake up naturally every day I would šŸ™‚

    July 31, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

