peace + love + photography

Fireworks + Michael Jackson Danceoff = a good time

I am one year older, wiser, and happier. When I mention my birthday is the 4th, there is usually an obligatory joke / wise crack about fireworks. It’s an exciting day…my very own holiday! Really though, it can make one a bit thoughtful…sharing your day with a national holiday steeped in tradition and history.

As a child my family would go out of their way to make it a special day. I remember large family gatherings usually poolside, my grandfather barbecuing, whistling to himself. My father teaching my sister and I how to swim…and chocolate birthday cake.

This year it was pretty much the same. A barbecue with family and friends, watching the Micheal Jackson tribute…challenging each other to a dance off, each person to their favorite Michael Jackson song. Because in our family, we dance. We get buck. After the food and cake it was off to watch fireworks…at the ballpark; a great way to end the day.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

